Paramedic school a good idea?

I just recently signed up for the paramedic program at my local community college. It's actually an associates degree program and all 60 credits transfer into a allied healthcare administration degree at Towson university. My plan was to work as a paramedic in a busy inner city service and get ground experience while I'm young (I'm 22), all the while finishing the program at towson which can be completed online. Would I be competitive for PA school with these credentials or would I be better served getting a biology based degree in a traditional format? I'd much rather work as a paramedic for 5-10 years before PA school but I want to make sure that window is still open. Thanks for your time

I took a similar path as the one you describe. I was a paramedic for 17 years. I completed a B.S. in Healthcare Management via an accelerated online program, because it transferred more of my prior credits than any other degree, and I thought the subject of healthcare management would give me a good foundation for any healthcare career. I applied to 6 programs. I received interviews at 5, and will be attending my top choice this fall. None of the programs that I applied to had an issue with my online degree; however, I will caution you to do your research on the programs that you are interested in. There was one program near my home that did not have a problem with the online degree, but they would not accept online science lab courses. In my case, I took as many courses as I could to complete my degree at the local community college, because it was significantly cheaper, and transferred. Most of these courses were also the PA program prerequisites. It was never an issue for me, because while I earned an online degree, the science prereqs were completed in a traditional classroom. I think you have a solid plan, just do some research and perhaps call the programs you are interested in to get their feedback. Good luck.