How did your quality of life and the difficulty of school change once rotations start

QOL: MUCH better in clinical year.

Stress: MUCH less in clinical year.

Challenge: well, depends on what challenges you. I am finding clinicals to be a more enjoyable and instant gratification kind of challenge.

I'm liking clinicals significantly more than didactic.......the worst day in clinic is better (IMO) than the best day in didactic.

I remember when I was a first year student a second year student at my program told me she missed didactic year sometimes. I thought she was crazy, until I entered clinical year and understood what she meant. Yes, it's definitely better because the stress of exams is not as high (although we still had end of rotation exams at my school), but your time is "more your own" during didactic year. What I mean by that is: during first year you're able to dictate how you spend your time vs. second year. While you shouldn't skip class, if you're really exhausted you can maybe skip a class and sleep in -- can't do that on clinicals. You can also decide once class is over when you're going to study, when you're going to take a break and go to the gym, etc. Once you're on rotations your schedule is set for you and for the most part you have no control over it. At my program we didn't get any vacation time during clinical year either. So while it's nice to not have to spend your entire weekend studying for exams like didactic I did miss having a week off for spring break, summer break, winter break, etc. every few months.

Was didactic year better than 70 hr weeks on surgery rotations? Yes, especially if you hate surgery. (I work in surgery, but those who hated surgery found these months even worse.)

Was didactic year better than working 12 days straight on Internal Medicine because your call schedule gave you a "black weekend"? Yes.

Was didactic year better than primary care rotation working 9-4? No way.