Pharmacological Stress testing

Hi, I'm currently finishing my last clinical rotation at a Cardiology office. Often I run the stress echo's in the presence of the doctor and read the echo tests along side him. One day it was busy in the office, and we had a few patients waiting for a pharmacological stress test where we inject persantine. The tech that takes the pictures for nuclear imaging went and asked me if I could just inject the patients myself, being that I am a student I told him I was not allowed so he went to ask the MD who came out and asked me if a PA-C could do the infusion or not. I told him I'm not sure. Throughout the test we kept asking ourselves if a PA can or cannot. I believe we could but couldn't find any source to go from to show him. So from any Cardiology PAs who are out there. Can we run the pharmacological stress test as a PA-C? Does the MD have to do infusion? Does the MD have to be present in the room at all times for the pharmacological stress test while the PA is there?. And any sources you could find stating that we could do it would be helpful? I'm aware of the PA practice act that states that we may practice within the scope of the MD practicing, but was wondering if there might be any exemptions.