How do you treat Acute Gout in the ED?

I have been working in the ER (south side Chicago) for about 5 months now and see a ton of patient with acute gout flare up. Most of the patients I see don't have any insurance or a primary care doctor. what is your preferred gout treatment? Some of the doctors I work with like using Indomethacin alone and some like to do a short course of Prednisone and Naproxen.

In Ed 2 colchrys 0.6mg each, po

10 mg decadron IM

10 mg Percocet po

Crutches (this b*tch hurts!)

Prednisone 20 mg #15 2 po qam x5d, 1 po qam x5d ( on $4 list)

If insurance: lortabs 10 and colchrys #4 sig 1po bid x 2d and lortab 10 #10

If no insurance hydrocodone 5/325 sig 1-3q4-6h for pain

Cold packs, elevate, time.

No etoh.

If had more than 3 flares in 12 months.. Would need referral to free clinic for Uris acid production/excretion determination, and appropriate maintainence treatment.

Note: this only applies to folks with OBJECTIVE findings; warm, swollen joint(s), elevated Uris acid or sed rate, etc.. No merely someone who SAYS he has gout and SAYS He is having pain.

If I were to decide to use NSAID ( any would work, indomethicine is sorta the standard).. Then baseline creatinine.

In Ed 2 colchrys 0.6mg each, po

10 mg decadron IM

10 mg Percocet po

Crutches (this b*tch hurts!)

Prednisone 20 mg #15 2 po qam x5d, 1 po qam x5d ( on $4 list)

If insurance: lortabs 10 and colchrys #4 sig 1po bid x 2d and lortab 10 #10

If no insurance hydrocodone 5/325 sig 1-3q4-6h for pain

Cold packs, elevate, time.

No etoh.

If had more than 3 flares in 12 months.. Would need referral to free clinic for Uris acid production/excretion determination, and appropriate maintainence treatment.

Note: this only applies to folks with OBJECTIVE findings; warm, swollen joint(s), elevated Uris acid or sed rate, etc.. No merely someone who SAY If I were to decide to use NSAID ( any would work, indomethicine is sorta the standard).. Then baseline creatinine.