Naval Reserve PA

I am looking to re-affiliate with the Navy. I graduated in 2009 from Tx Tech University. I have been working primarily in orthopedic surgery and some ER. Was hoping someone who is currently in the Navy reserves could shed some light on the current deployment rate of Reserve PA's. I meet with a recruiter on Monday to discuss DCO school, rank, loan repayment, deployment rates, etc.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

RaiderPA- I am also considering the Navy Reserves. I'm far from that goal (still a pre-PA), however, I am curious as to the workings of a Naval Reserve PA in the Medical Service Corps. I have thought about it since a friend, in passing, stated some information on military opportunities. Now, I have never served in the military and I will probably be 32-33 years old once I graduate. I have looked at the Navy Reserve website but still have some questions and since you spoke with a recruiter, you may have most/all the answers. Please forgive any ignorance as this is the first time I am considering this option.

1. I thought that I would have to go through OCS, but that might only be for active duty personnel only -- I'm not sure. If I am a PA grad, no prior military experience, and looking into the reserves, is Direct Commissioned Officer school the only route? I of course would like to be commissioned as an officer upon entering.
  2. When you graduate and become a commissioned officer and a reserve PA, I understand that approximately 1 weekend per month and 2 weeks per year will be spent doing drills. Is this at one location or are there multiple places you can go to get this done?
  3. I understand that in order to be a commissioned officer in the reserves, 2-8 years of service is usually required. Is that dependent upon your occupation, ranking or other variables?