Any schools accept transfers from Medical school students

I am currently a 2nd year medical student and passed the step 1. However after talking with many PA's and shadowing them. I now realize that PA is what my true calling is, not an MD. I am anxious to return to my rural hometown and get to work practicing medicine, rather than finish up 2 more years of school and 3 years of residency when everything I want to do with medicine can be done and done more the way I want to do it through becoming a PA.

I know that most PA school's do not allow for advance placement. However with the shortage of medical professionals in rural areas, I am hoping to find a few that might be open to considering the benefits of transferring a medical student ready to start clinicals into their PA program.

- So does anyone know of PA school's that have transferred medical students into their program?

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sorry, no. I am also an M2 taking step 1 next month (PA-C for 13 yr).

You would be best off to finish your last 2 yr and at minimum intern year so you can be fully licensed. I strongly advise you to stick it out and complete a full residency. You will be able to do more for your rural patients as a fully licensed physician with PA colleagues on staff. Unfortunately if you change paths now you will have to start at first semester of PA school and that would be a waste all around.

Good luck.