Nursing Student--PA school or DNP program? HELPP

I am currently an undergraduate in a 5 year nursing program.

I was wondering what the actual difference was between a PA and DNP.

I know that PA's have received more clinical training, but it seems that DNP's are in school longer and of course get to have the doctor in front of their name.

I chose to be a nursing major so that I would be able to have a job right out of school and so i would be able to work (save money and pay for my own grad school) while getting the experience i need to either be a PA or DNP.

I keep hearing different things about both professions, but it seems to me that both function at the basic same level of competency, so what is one doing having a doctrate while the other is only at the masters level and why is the master's level being paid more?

I have also heard that hospitals prefer to hire DNP's because htey have more experience in actual patient care...

I am just extremely conflicted in between the two professions. I did not want to be a doctor because I don't want to be the one that everybody looks at waiting for instructions on how to proceed to save a person's life. I want to aide the doctor, but mainly i want to be a support for the patient through their illness.

Especially because of the new healthcare plan that has recently come into effect, i know that the PA and DNP professions are on the rise since they offer cheaper services.

What should I do?!?!?

BEEN AROUND FOR A LONG TIME.STANFORD USED TO HAVE THE SAME OPTION:

http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/fnppa/

True. Stanford dropped it in 2007 because the nursing board mandated EVERY NP program be attached to a Nursing school which Stanford does not have and grant a MS in nursing which they couldn't do since they did not have a Nursing school so they decided to be strictly PA.

BUT......

According to this paper:

PCAP.Stanford.edu/program/FNP%20Option%20Change.pdf