Shadow Request Letter - Constructional Criticism

I hope i'm allowed to post this here... forgive me if I am wrong. Does this letter sound too casual or too uniform to send as a request to shadow? I try to be "myself" as much as possible (I honestly believe that's how I got the job I currently have). What changes would you recommend?

My Street Address

My City, State 01234

(123) 456-7890

Ms. _________

Hospital Name

123 Some Street

City, State 45678

Greetings _________,

I am a recent graduate of the Biology program at Claflin University (2011), currently in the process of beginning my application to the 2014 cycle of physician assistant programs. In this process I learned of the website PAShadowOnline.com, from which I discovered your information. I am writing you in hopes of requesting a possible job shadowing experience with you.

My original plan upon entering undergrad was to go to medical school to pursue a doctorate degree in obstetrics/gynecology, but upon further research and self-awareness, I have settled on the path of becoming a physician assistant. As a current CNA/Emergency Department Tech, I’ve discovered my desire to work more “hands on” with the patients and believe this role is more applicable to my voluble and philanthropic personality.

I understand that your time is valuable and would greatly appreciate if you would consider allowing me to have a full day, half day or couple hours of observation with the chance to ask a few brief questions along the way. It would be an amazing opportunity that will not only enhance my application, but will allow me to see and experience first-hand the role of a physician assistant.

I will be contacting your office next week to discuss this with you. Feel free to call me beforehand at (123) 456-7890 or e-mail me at thisemailihave@thisplace.com. Thank you in advance for considering this opportunity.

Sincerely,

First M.I. Last