Would it be advisable to apply for a residency or find a different job?

Hi. I'm a fairly new PA. I graduated in November 2011, and had some difficulty finding a job, since most places want 1-2 years of experience. So, I applied for an Urgent Care 3-month externship with a promise of a job upon completion. After I had completed the 3 months, I was told that I lacked confidence, and that I needed more experience before running a clinic on my own. It took me 2 months to find a new job at an Occupational Medicine/Urgent Care clinic(s). At my 6 month evaluation (done at 7 months), I was told that employers had told them that employees had said that I appeared to lack confidence, which they had never mentioned to me before. They had been cutting my hours from full-time to part-time in the 7 months, and had told me that at my 6-month review, they would increase my pay, give me benefits - health insurance, etc., and give me 45 hours per week. Since the review, they have cut my hours to 6-12 hours every week, and I was struggling to pay my bills and school loans before they cut my hours so severely. They seem to have fired a lot of people at this facility recently as well, so I'm concerned that something is going on behind the scenes as well, since all the MA hours have been cut as well besides the firings.

I just want to be a great PA. I want to be, feel, and appear to be confident. Because I've had to depend on my family for living arrangements as my hours were cut prior to this review, I have that pressure on me to get another job. I have 5 months left on my contract, and have to give 90 days notice prior to quitting my job, and they have a clause in the contract that states I have to pay back any training that they have given me, which worries me about breaking the contract. I was not considering leaving until this Monday, when I got the review.