Job or Surgical Residency right out of school?

Hello everyone.

I am a a PA student on the last 2 months of PA school. I am taking my PANCE June 3rd! I am wondering what some of your experiences have been right out of school.

In December I was dead set on going to a Surgical Residency program if I got accepted, however, since then I am on the fence. I applied for jobs in the area just in case and got a job offer for exactly what I want to do, General surgery covering several different specialties including thoracic, vascular, plastics, etc. I said yes to the job, and because it is "At will" there was no contract to sign. That was about 2 months ago. Since then, I received an invitation to an interview at the Yale/Norwalk surgical residency program scheduled for April. I have decided on attending the interview because, well, why not?

My hesitation if I got accepted is that I have heard that these residencies work their PAs from 40-80 hrs a week, getting paid a very low stipend (Yale is 42K). I would also have to relocate to CT for the year. The job I accepted has offered over 90K. Furthermore, I have asked every PA I've met their opinion on residencies: Those who have gone through one swear by it, those who took jobs right out of school are just as talented and claim there you really don't need a residency.

Any insight, especially from Norwalk or surgical PA residents, would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

There are programs strongly tilted towards surgical PAs( Cornell, Monefiore). These grads have no problem getting into and excelling at surgical positions.

For the rest of us, it is residency or see-one, do-one OJT.

You do NOT Need a residency ( yet), but, given the option, take it.

Residency or CAQ will be required in the next 2 decades, I am pretty sure.

The low pay and high hours at Yale is the price you have to pay to get from the program what you need to VE able to command higher pay and better positions in the future.