Clinical Experience- EMT vs CNA vs Phlebotomist

Hello!

As far as clinical experience goes, I know many schools don't require clinical experience but it is highly recommended. I am planning on getting a certification this summer to start logging hours. Does anyone have any advice on which would be best between an EMT, CNA, and Phlebotomist?

Thanks!

cna>emt>phleb I'm a CNA and an EMT and I can tell you that I've worked more and learned more as a CNA than as an EMT. The issue with EMT is that there can be too much sitting around waiting for the bell to ring. Thus a 12 hour shift might equal 3 hours with a patient. I can say definitively that as a CNA at a Post-op ICU my 12 hour shift is 100% with patients and nurses and docs learning.

EMT can be a lot of things. It's really where you're working. I put EMT in an ER over everything except RN, EMT-P and RT. The moral of the story is where you are getting your experience from not what alphabet cert you have. I put CNA in hospice or home caregiver below IFT EMT-B. I would also put CNA in a hospital outside of ICU or ER equal to an IFT EMT-B.

In terms of training, you learn more medical related issues through EMT-B versus CNA which is more nursing and bedside manner type of training.

Phlebotomy should be treated as an accent certification such as ACLS / PALS / NRP. Like the other alphabet certs just mentioned it'll open up opportunities to do more. If you want a job as an ER Tech it doesn't matter if you're a CNA or EMT, each hospital will have their preference. But some may require you to have that phlebotomy license as well. So pick one EMT/CNA and get your phlebotomy to accent those certifications.

Just throwing that out there.

agree.

emt as er tech is awesome.

emt doing bs interfacility transports all day long, not so good.

cna as pt care tech in hospital is good. cna at nursing home doing bed baths and feeding folks, not so good. you will learn to work with people but very little about medicine.