Cardiology job offer help!

Howdy all!

I'm in need of some advice regarding a recent job offer...To give you a little background, I've been practicing for 3 years and have a Neurosurg/ED/Paramedic background. I'm currently practicing in PM&R but am potentially being poached by an interventional cardiologist (which I'm not opposed to, given the right circumstances)...

Here are some of the job specifics:

Practice location: North Texas (Dallas/FW area)

Essentially, I would be traveling to different SNF and LTACH facilities and doing cardiology consults (at least initially - I could take acute hospital consults later on, if I want to - which I do). I have been offered either a salary position or independent contractor position which pays per patient seen (I'm leaning towards independent contractor).

I would be able to make my own hours and see as many or as few patients as I want to. I would also have to take call (every 3rd weekend) but that only entails being available by phone (no weekend rounding). They have also guaranteed me a 20 patient minimum daily load.

As an independent contractor, I would have to pay for most everything (health insurance, taxes, etc...). The doc has offered to pay for my malpractice though (he would add me to his claims made policy but I would have to pay for my own tail coverage).

Here's what they have offered as far as payment:

Follow up patient visits: $20 per patient

New patient visits: $25 per patient

After crunching the numbers with the minimum patient load, the pay seems on the low side, in my opinion...I'm thinking that I'd like to see $30-40 for follow up visits and $40-50 for new patients...is that realistic or am I just delusional? :;;D: