Starting from scratch - need advice!

Hello. I am a senior college student set to graduate in May with a non-science related bachelor degree, a 3.4 GPA, and an assortment of campus involvement and leadership activities. I've become fairly certain that being a PA is what I really want to do, and have very little passion for what I'm studying. My parents discouraged me from changing my major because it would mean not graduating in four years. However, I intend to shadow a PA in order to decide if this is what I want to do. If it is, where do I even start? It would mean gaining considerable HCE and taking many, many pre-requisites, and because my undergraduate GPA is so mediocre, I don't know what to do. I know that graduate programs are getting increasingly more competitive and that scares me. I know I can score well on the GRE, and I have an aptitude towards science as long as I apply myself. My question is, what should I focus on after graduation? What kind of HCE would be most valued and attainable for me? And should I take coursework at a four year university or is it acceptable to take it at a community college?

I'm lucky to be graduating without debt and have a lot of support. I just don't know where to start.

Shadowing a PA is a good place to start. There would be no sense in spending so much time and money taking prereqs if you discovered that it wasn't actually something you wanted to pursue. Just out of curiosity, what has led you to believe that being a PA is what you really want to do? Once you spend some time shadowing, you then may want to investigate HCE. I think a lot of people do EMT or CNA because you can become certified in a relatively short period of time. You should be able to find some opportunity with either of these certifications almost anywhere, though finding a paid position may be somewhat difficult.