low GPA on bachelors & already in medical field

I am currently a respiratory therapist and i have a bachelors in business administration. My GPA was 2.8 at time of graduation in July 2012. I am thinking of taking the pre-req classes, GRE then trying to get in for PA. What is the chances that my under 3.0 GPA would be over shadowed by my medical experience. Timeline wise i'm thinking i'll be respiratory about 4 or 5 years when the big push comes.

Thank you!

Every year it's getting more competitive. People are entering with lots of HCE and high GPAs and the applicants are only going to get stronger each year. My advice... Get your HCE and raise your GPA one class at a time. There are programs that look past GPA however they are far and few in between.

I know some schools only look at your last 60 units. Others have min GPA at 2.67.. One school only looks at your A&P and Micro GPA + HCE hours + Geographic location... Another school honors grade replacements..

Because a school may have min GPAs listed.. You should try and strive to get close to the avg accepted student stat regardless if it's HCE totals, volunteering hours or GPA total.

In all honesty it wouldn't be too hard to raise a 2.8 to above a 3.0 or even something more competitive especially since you have the opportunity to really shine in your science classes. You essentially have a clean slate being a business major. Just do your best and good things will happen.

http://www.physicianassistantforum.com/forums/showthread.php/37214-I-did-it-you-can-too!?highlight=

Raising your GPA is hard when you have lots of credits. Mine's gone from 2.70 to 2.97 but it's taken two years of nearly all A's. Fingers crossed I'll have that 3.0 after this semester. 2.8 is within striking distance of 3.0 if you can make A's in the pre-requisites (which is hard).