Sign in to follow this  

salary negotiation

Hello!

I have been working as a derm PA for 3 years now. I worked at the first office for two and a half years. My supervising physician and office manager refused to show any of the mid-levels their "numbers", which was even more outrageous considering the fact that our salaries were productivity based. They paid me only 60k the first year and a half I worked there and increased my pay to 70k for the last 6 months, even though I saw an average of about 35-45 patients a day.

When I checked out the national averages for derm PAs with my level of experience, I was very discouraged. At my current job, I'm seeing an average of 25-30 patients a day and making 80k. I'm afraid that the current office is not busy enough to justify having a PA (I'm the only provider). I spend about 8-9 hours a day at the office so it's not like my schedule is restricting me from seeing more patients.

I'm debating over whether I should stay at the current office or try to find a busier office so that I can pay my student loans.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

• Upvote 1

I am a new grad and just started a derm position at base 85k in the midwest, with about the same patient volume as your current job.

After 3-5 years of experience, I would expect my salary to be higher with my ability to see more patient/day. Did you mean that your current office is not busy enough to hire a MA?

Recent articles that should help

http://www.jaapa.com/a-survey-of-fellow-members-of-the-society-of-dermatology-physician-assistants/article/277877/

http://bmctoday.net/practicaldermatology/2012/08/article.asp?f=the-pa-salary-structures-and-strategies

Are you seeing patients 5 days a week? Do you have a medical assistant? Any overhead expenses?

You should be making a bonus on productivity plus your current base. With 25-30 patients a day, you are bringing in a large sum to the office. All of your figures should be shown to you on a monthly basis.