For anyone interested in the PA MPH program, I started a blog about my experiences as a PA MPH student (I am currently in my second semester). I really enjoyed reading PA student blogs when I was applying to PA schools I felt they gave a perspective into a program you really couldn't find elsewhere. However, I didn't find any pertaining to any PA MPH programs, so I started my own.

Maybe you'll it useful if you're considering applying for, or accepting a spot in a dual degree program. The URL is included in my signature below.

• 1 month later...
  • 3 weeks later...

In my opinion, the beauty of having an MPH and a PA degree is that you will have a little more flexibility with what you do than with a PA alone. While PAs have the horizontal flexibility that enables them to move from one specialty to another, a PA/MPH has an entire other dimension of career possibilities in the Public Health world. And the Public Health world, as it turns out, is HUGE. It's difficult to define because it's so broad; it encompasses anything from injury prevention, to environmental disasters, to disease outbreaks, to health promotion and education in a community, to dentistry, and so on and so forth. This is the reason why we have several tracks to choose from with our MPH (I am in Epidemiology and Biostatistics, for example).

As a Public Health Professional with CLINICAL expertise, you are an extremely valuable commodity in the Public Health realm in terms of what clinicians do and how they think, and also in research, policy, and education.

As a PA with PUBLIC HEALTH expertise you will be better equipped to impact the communities you serve on a larger scale in terms of health education, health promotion, health interventions, health policy changes, or epidemiology (population health studies).

Here is a post I wrote last June about this topic:

http://www.memothepa.com/2010/06/so-about-that-mph.html