The Kentucky Battle - - - What's Your Thoughts?

I have a sore spot in my heart for Kentucky. I graduated from UK and the state laws then were horrible and the medical culture in the early 1980s were bad. After 9 months I was the third person in my class to get a real PA job and I had to go out of state to do it.

Now there is a big battle to overturn a law that says a new PA graduate must work on the same site as the SP for the first 18 months. As I read this law I question if that is where we need to focus our energy. In my honest opinion, I didn't know crap when I finished PA school. I think a new PA needs at least 12 months of working side by side with the MD before sprouting their wings. What do you think?

I think a appropriately trained PA should not need 12 months. Does this mean no new grad needs it, no. I really think it should be up to the SP. I would think the best way to make this decision is to look at KY compared to other states and see if their is any change is lawsuits or MM. I bet there isn't.

I think you're right, jmj, to say that any new grad needs extra supervision for the first few months. I think the problem lies in the fact that they completely overrule the SP by having this strict 18 month rule. Like Oneal said, I think the goal is more to let the SP decide how much and how quickly he or she wants to let the PA do. It makes PAs almost unemployable when the alternative is for the doc to just hire an NP who can do just about anything they want in this state. The only other state that has something similar, I believe, is Colorado with a 6 month rule. That's much more reasonable than a year and a half.