What are my chances?

Brand new to the forum. I was very disheartened about reading about students who had incredible stats, but not get in. My stats are as follows: 3.4 GPA 3.55 Science GPA. I'm currently a Junior in an undergrad university and am deciding to take the GRE this summer. I was wondering if I had a chance at any NY/NJ PA schools (where I live, don't wanna leave). Any light at the end of the tunnel?

I am not sure what is the major factor for you don't want to leave. Do not limit to certain location when applying to grad schools because you never know your chances are and what school will fit you the most. Close to home and loved ones is very nice, but you also know that those people with incredible stat are willing to go anywhere for interview hoping to get a spot. Don't make the locations stand in your ways pursuing your dreams.

can you imagine if people applying to medical school had the gall to say they didn't want to leave where they were living ... sorry, it sounds atrocious. my advice would be to reconsider your career choice to the nth degree. make sure what you choose to do for the rest of your life is something you'll be passionate about.

can you imagine if people applying to medical school had the gall to say they didn't want to leave where they were living ... sorry, it sounds atrocious. my advice would be to reconsider your career choice to the nth degree. make sure what you choose to do for the rest of your life is something you'll be passionate about.

A little over dramatic, don't ya think? What's wrong with wanting to stay local? Personally I only applied to programs in either my immediate area or places in the country I had lived previously. I mananaged to find a seat first round; it can be done. I'm sure there are plenty of med students who are geographically limited in where they can attend school.