Long clinical hours in PA school

Hi everyone! :=D: I am thinking of going to PA school. I currently work as an RN. I sometimes pull 15 hour days on my unit.

I heard someone say who went to PA school that they pull 24 hour plus clincials in school. Is that true?? I don't mind long hours, but 15 is enough for me at one time.

Can someone please tell how long a typical clinical is?? If you all do pull 24 plus hour clinicals, I don't think it is for me.

Much thanks!! :wink:

It depends on many variables. One is where you do your rotations, you may or may not have any say about that. If you do them in the rural areas you won't do anything like the above. If you do urban rotations then you will. It also depends on how busy your preceptor is and what type of rotation it is. One forum member just started his clinicals and he happens to be rotating at a new practice....not many patients so he's bored. Usually FP(that's what he's doing) is very busy. If your in the rural areas there will be alot of down time. I try to tell people to avoid the rural areas for clinicals b/c anything that is more complicated gets transferred out to the larger hospitals.

Ok. So I guess there is no telling then. Ugh. I am the type of person who needs to sleep at night. I don't mind working 15 hours from sun up to sun down and don't mind working the evening shift where I get off at 2 AM. But I am usually in the bed by 3:30AM. I had to do one night shift once and almost fell-out at 6AM. Nights are not me and no sleep is not me. So I guess PA school is out for me then. That is a shame. I was really interested in doing this. I am NOT gonig to pull all-nighters though. Thanks.