IDFPR Lay-offs and Licensing

I'm a new graduate awaiting licensure in IL and when I called the other day to check the status of my license application I was told that it may be delayed anywhere from 12-18 months as 18 staff members have been let go from the department of professional regulation and they now have 1 employee processing licensing applications.

http://www.idfpr.com/

There is an open letter on the home page addressing medical providers regarding the delays.

Any current IL PAs on here? I was curious to hear if the Illinois Academy of PAs has done anything with this? I went to their webpage and didn't even see a mention of this. The only organizations I've heard weigh-in on it have been ISMS, IDFPR, and the Illinois Hospital Association.

Yikes, that's pretty horrible. It appears that the state and the Illinois State Medical Society are not getting along. As a native of IL I can confirm that the state government is rather dysfunctional. Our last two governors are both sitting in federal prison. Rod, a democrat, was arrested at the governor's mansion by the FBI and is now down the prison hallway from George Ryan, a republican. I congratulate IL governors for stepping across party lines in order to be brought up on federal charges and go to federal prison.

Perhaps this is a good time to open a discussion as to the value of a state license as opposed to the various medical societies self-regulating. If someone is a credentialed PA-C and is in good standing then what is the value and benefit of having the state re-verify these credentials? I realize that each state has their own laws about the scope of practice, but perhaps this needs to be standardized on a national level.

Nurses, physicians’ assistants,

pharmacists, and other healthcare professional may

wish to discuss this situation with any physicians

with whom they affiliate, as it may affect their ability to provide services to these physicians.