How can I make a career change to PA?

Hello All,

I have a problem and I am looking for advice and suggestions on how to improve my situation. I am a recent college graduate with a liberal arts degree. I was always interested in medicine. I was pre-med during my first year of college, but dropped it due to not getting good grades. So I changed my focus of study to a useless liberal arts degree that is not getting me a job. After completing college, I am more mature now with better study habits. Medical school will be a much longer road so that is why I am considering PA. I will still practice medicine either way. I also understand that PA school is also rigorous and difficult to get into, but if successful it will be shorter to complete. Anyway, I am working as a cashier part time in retail where they will probably lay me off soon b/c I am not getting many customers to sign up for their store credit card. I can't continue living like this working for very little money and applying for jobs with no response. I want a career that I love that will give me PRACTICAL skills. A general degree is a waste of time and doesn't cut it anymore in a time where many people have college degrees.

Anyway, enough of my rant. I just wanted to give you all a little background of my situation. I would like to know if anyone here did a career switch to PA from something else and how they did it. Where can I take courses. I thought of doing a 2nd bachelors degree in biology and then applying to PA school. I am also worried about getting a loan as I have bad credit and my parents also don't have good enough credit to cosign me for a loan. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated thank you.

I was a sociology major - it doesn't really matter what your undergrad degree is. There are tons of threads on this forum for people in your same situation.

To sum up: