National Guard vs. Army Reserve

I am a recent new grad (17 months out) and I am looking at joining the National Guard or the Army Reserve to get a little help with my CRUSHING school loan debt. Anybody have any thoughts on pros and cons of one vs. the other? Likelihood of deployment of one vs. the other?

I am older than the average new guy(40), and I have a wife and kids, so that's why I am considering one of the more "part-time" service options.

Thanks.

It all depends on the type of unit in which you get attached. Different types of units deploy at different rates and in some cases, different lengths of time (also can depend on branch). Like EMEDPA said, check out the other services as well and don't forget about Coast Guard if you're looking to stay close by and you're near the beach somewhere. Marines are the only service to not have a medical branch for that everything medical related is provided by the Navy (i.e. Navy Corpsman, PA's, Dr's, Nurses, etc).

I live in Tennessee so I know of Guard and Reserve units close to where I live. That is interesting about the PHS and a ready reserve unit.. I wonder what they would offer in the way of Loan repayment... Just did a quick search on PHS duty stations.. None in Tennessee.

Get over the deployment thing. The question isn't if you will deploy only when. I hated it when PAs would whine and cry about deploying. They were happy to take the money but threw a fit when the Guard expected them to deploy. Once you get past that I had a great time as a PA in the Guard for 20+ yrs.

Get over the deployment thing. The question isn't if you will deploy only when. I hated it when PAs would whine and cry about deploying. They were happy to take the money but threw a fit when the Guard expected them to deploy. Once you get past that I had a great time as a PA in the Guard for 20+ yrs.

Thank you for saying this. I don't even see why someone would want to join a part-time unit if they didn't want to deploy.