Boost GPA or get a Master's? Need advice

I recently graduated from UGA with a major in Biology. My overall GPA was a 3.07...which is not great. I have plenty of experience, and have been working for the same doctor for the past 5 years (during the summers while I was in college). I also have shadowed PA's and worked for a year during college as a histology assistant in a hospital lab. I applied to PA schools at the end of this past summer, and I have not gotten into any of them. I figure my biggest problem is my GPA. I am looking for advice as to whether I should retake some of the classes I did not do as well in during undergrad, or if I should go get a masters in possibly Biochemistry or something of the like, and then reapply to PA school. I am not sure which one would further my chances of getting into PA school. Thanks!!

Well, if you aren't concerned with time then go ahead with the masters. If you would rather apply next cycle, I would pinpoint the programs where you meet their minimum requirement for GPA, then I would look at each program's prerequisite list. Take the next two semesters and work towards getting A's in all of those prerequisites, even if your retaking them. Also, continue to keep getting pt care hours and make sure you have strong recommendation letters. With a bio degree, A's in the prerequisites, strong rec letters, and good pt care hours, you will be a good candidate. Just my opinion.

If it were me, I'm not sure I could justify getting a masters degree solely as a means to be accepted to PA school (unless of course you're really passionate about Biochemistry). You might want to consider taking other upper-level science courses (and rock them) so you can prove that you can handle difficult material. Also, if you did not fair all that well in your pre-reqs specifically, you could retake one or two of them and show that the 3.07 is not an accurate depiction of your abilities.