Sophomore - POTENTIAL 3.3 GPA by senior year, chances? advice?

Right now I am a sophomore at BU going into Spring semester and I took a Journalism class last semester and received a D because I wasn't able to write the last final article because of an emergency flight home. Got a 0 on the final and my grade plummeted from a B+ to a D. This dropped my GPA from 3.1 to a 2.78.

I really want to become a PA.

The idea of assisting a doctor is so enticing. I have already signed up to begin volunteering at the local hospital starting next month (which I will continue till I graduate). If I get mostly A's I can graduate with a 3.2 - 3.4 GPA, but I feel like this is not nearly enough.

I plan to begin shadowing PA's and doctors as soon as I can meet some.

What else should I do to help myself get accepted into a PA school right after college??

I will do ANYTHING else.

I heard getting EMT certified may boost chances.

Please help! I really really wish for nothing more than to become a PA!

Thank you in advance, I look forward to hearing everyone's reply!

• Administrator
(sob story snipped)

I plan to begin shadowing PA's and doctors as soon as I can meet some.

(snip)

Please help! I really really wish for nothing more than to become a PA!

Please don't feed the trolls--or those so sufficiently clueless that they are indistinguishable from trolls.

If it truly was an emergency flight home (true emergency, like your dad had a heart attack, your house burned down) go and see the professor with documentation. Tell her you're sorry, you weren't thinking clearly (due to the life threatening emergency), you should have called, is there anything that can be worked out, etc.

If she says no, go to the head of the department. Then go to the dean.

i have been to four undergraduate programs and I have never seen a uni screw a student for a true emergency. In fact, they'll usually bend over backwards to help him.

Also, research the PA school you want to go to.