To all you paramedics out there...

Good evening everyone,

This question is geared specifically for current PA-S, PA-C, or anyone who would know the answer to these few questions I have. I'm currently a paramedic working in a emergency only, mid-size city, and have been working in EMS for six years. I'm wondering..

1. How useful has your background as a medic been? Did the previous experience and knowledge really benefit you with the rigors of the PA curriculum?

2. Do you believe that your education/experience has a EMS provider was the "boost" you needed to set you apart from the rest of the applicants (in addition to strong gpa, interview, etc)?

3. Anything could offer to shed light on the transition?

Cheers, and thank you

The short answer is yes, it's helpful. Obviously, the first year it will help you more with cardiology and pulmonolgy than things like neurology and endocrinology...but more importantly you have learned more about the ins and outs and successes and failures of the medical system than anyone who worked as a candy striper for three months could ever hope to know. As a paramedic you will be way ahead on the 'hard skills' and that's great, but both you and I could probably teach a relatively smart chimp (and that candy striper) to start IVs without too much effort. Where paramedics (and others coming into PA school with YEARS of real health care experience) have an advantage is in the soft skills. You know how to talk to patients. You know how to talk to other providers. (You probably know how to talk to other providers who don't like you without it getting personal.) You can deal with "problem patients" and have difficult discussions with their family members. These are the things that cannot be taught and can only be learned through experience.