help, need help with salary issues in Michigan.

Help please! I just got a call from a hospital administrator to let me know they are very interested and that I"ll be getting a job offer from them on Wednesday. this does not give me enough time to get a salary review from the AAPA. I've been working locum tenens jobs since 2004 and really have no idea what is going on in the salary department for permanent PA jobs. The job is in Michigan and sounds like it will be a full time position with a split between family practice and gyn. They just lost a female gynecologist and they want me to cover part of her load as well as work family practice. I have a total of 30 years experience with 10 years in ob/gyn and 20 (how did that happen??) in family practice. The position is an office practice owned by a hospital system. They are trying to fill several positions at this time. It is in a small town that is difficult to attract physicians and PAs to. It sounds like there is flexibility in hours: 4 ten hour days instead of five 8 hour days. but they also require all there midlevels to work occasional weekends (maybe once a month) in the walk in clinic... not exactly what I want to do but for one weekend a month (and possibly less when they are fully staffed) it's ok. Does anyone have any ideas as to what I should expect salary wise at this point in the game? Thanks in advance,

• 2 weeks later...

Also, I would contact them soon if you haven't heard from them by today to see where the status of the offer is. I agree with Medic207. DO not let them lowball you, especially since you will be covering the Walk-in clinic once a month. The base suggested by Medic is a good starting point. What did they say about how you are paid? Salaried? RVU's? Differential pay for weekends? Holiday pay if you get stuck in the Walk-in on a holiday weekend? Cover all your bases. Good luck.

Don't let them lowball you

You have no control over their offer. They will offer whatever they offer.