Hold out or resign?

Just a little background about my experience. I have been working in the ED for about 2 years now. My first year and a half was mostly low acuity/rapid care experience. I then decided to try out working at an ED that has their PA’s work up higher acuity medical patients. They hire PA’s with little experience and train them between 3-6 months. I was told I would get 2 mo of training but just before I started, they said they needed someone full time and gave me only 8 shifts of training, then I started full time.

I’ve now completed 6 mo here and I feel I have been progressing well but my boss gave me a poor review, stating that my medical knowledge is lacking. He gave me an example, where a 4-yr old presented with calf pain, normal vital signs, no activity/injury causing the pain and no other symptoms. The exam was normal except for tenderness to the calves. I was stumped so I went to my SP and he looked at the patient, ordered tests and diagnosed the child with viral myositis. My boss said I should have known what it was without my SP’s help. My boss basically said I have 2 more months to impress them or I’m out. I admit, I have a lot more to learn but this has really been a confidence breaker. My boss’s advice was to read more journals. I want to try to improve to their expectations but I just get the impression that I’m going to be let go.

Ironically, my ED director from my last job sent me an email asking if I would like to return, as there is an opening. My last job had its problems, like I’m sure most jobs do, but what would be the wisest move? Should I stick with the current job while applying to other places, hoping something else comes through soon or return to the old job? Also, my current contract requires I pay back 2 mo of salary if I quit before the 1-yr mark.

Resign.