Will I be able to go on my rotations with a misdemeanor?

I am currently in my final year of classes and will go on my clinical rotations in May. I had a mental illness and severe anxiety and depression which led me to steal as a coping mechanism. I was caught and will have a misdeamor of theft on my criminal backround check that my school will run on me before I can start my rotations. I am currently in therapy and plan to make a full recovery to not let this happen again. I am afraid I will not be able to go on my clinical rotations with this now on my background which will also prevent me from graduating the PA program. Does anyone have any expierence or advice for me? I am currently in the pretrial part and may get a diversion but will not know until Feb. which would drop the charges but still be on my record.

Huge red flag. Doesn't your school do background checks prior to clinical rotations? No way you will get into any VA facility or other state/federal facility with this on your record which will likely limit your training options severely (as well as make you a huge headache for your clinical coordinator).

You need to meet with your clinical coordinator and probably program director ASAP to discuss this.

I'm not even going to get into the nightmare of licensing and credentialing later, assuming you complete rotations and graduate....