Out of school 15 years - opinions??

Hey guys, here is my situation- been out of undergrad for 15 years with a BS in Nutrition. Graduated with a 2.3, but have recently learned that its been over 10 years and my entire GPA is wiped out and will only look at my pre-req class GPA which I will start next month and into the summer. I need to take 36 hours and the GRE as well. Anyone have experience with this long length of time out of college? We're you looked at differently? Did work experience help? The last 15 years I have been a Personal Trainer and Nutritionist as well as competed Professionally in Triathlon for 6 years. Thanks!

Mine isn't 15 yrs. I was out of school for 5 yrs with a BS in Bio. I applied right after I got out of the military before retaking some science pre-reqs because my time limit expired on them and I got into Drexel. The biggest thing for you is to get good grades in the pre-reqs and look at applying at schools that look heavily on the last 45 units. I believe that your gpa is never wiped out, but I do know that schools do look for trends and maturity. I know that some schools have time limits on the sciences, but not on the non sciences. You need to check this out for each school you want to apply to. I took psychology 10 years ago and the schools were fine with it.

I felt I was looked differently because I was out of college for a while, but had healthcare and life experiences from the military that made me a well rounded candidate.

I hope that helps you out.

It was over 20 years before I ever started college. Was a hoot being in my pre reqs class with students who could have been my kids

It was 20 years after high school that I started college to work on my pre-requisites for PA and I WAS in some classes with my daughter !

Its all good, us "older" students I feel have an advantage because we have life experience and don't have a social life to distract us....lol