No EMT Jobs in my area...

I was hoping to do the EMT-B here in SoCal at the community college I'm attending, which will cost me $1,250... which would be fine, because I think it's worth it. The thing is, I've looked at online job postings (Indeed.com, Monster.com, etc.) and it seems like there's no jobs in my particular area for EMT-B (Not even ER Tech). Would it be wise to spend the cash/time on the program if I probably won't find a job here to utilize the cert or should I find something else that's more marketable in the area?

One option would be to get the EMT-B cert, and when I transfer, find something there. There's more jobs near Irvine, Orange County, etc. near the bigger cities.

Anyone have any advice? I appreciate it!

I'm an EMT (ER Tech) in So Cali. There's plenty of jobs. You need to go directly to the ambulance companies such as Care, Mercy, Good Shepard, McCormick, MedCoast, and PRN just to name a few. Unfortunately they are mostly IFT jobs but it's a start. Getting an ER tech job is very hard in our area. Those jobs are limited and highly sought after. It's really about who you know with most these hospitals because they tend to hire EMTs that they've had regular contact with. I took my class at CIEMT in long beach area for $870 if you want to try and save money. M-F 4pm - 10pm x 4 weeks.

Something else you can do is go to Regan Career Institute and get an EKG tech license to expand jobs you can apply to, it also pays more than ER Tech / EMT on an ambulance. Sat & Sun 8am-5pm x 4 weekends.

Something else you can do is start out as an orderly or volunteer at a hospital if you're trying to get into that setting. Something else you can do is get a phlebotomy license through UCI Medical center, they usually hire their graduates and help with job placement a little for nice positions. They also get paid more than EMTs / ER Techs.