Issues with Office Manager and controlled substances

Hi, and thanks in advance for any advice.

I have a messy situation. I'm a fairly new grad (1.5 yr inpatient experience) who recently started a new job at a family practice in NC. In NC you can practice with your supervising MD off site, so I'm the only provider there. It's a fairly rural area, and many patients have come in with chronic pain/benzos/amphetamines. I've been uncomfortable with a lot of this, and tried to be careful in my documentation and screening of patients before writing these scripts.

A few cases I did want some back up on, and had some resistance from my office manager. She discouraged me from calling my supervising MD, and instead had my call another PA from our group. I did that, and felt satisfied with his advice.

The next day a patient wanting amphetamines had a wishy washy story and no past medical records. I told my office manager I wasn't writing his script, and she told me that not doing so was "failure to treat," that I had to do it, and that we could be sued if I didn't. She then made me call the owner of the practice (a builder -- nonmedical person) and justify this decision... Ultimately I told her I wasn't calling him, but our supervising MD, who agreed with me and we wound up finding out that hew as getting meds from 4 different providers.