DPT wanting to turn PA

I have been a practicing physical therapist (DPT) for 6 years now and am wanting to switch career paths to PA. I am also a mom and do still have a decent amount of loans from PT school, so I would really only be able to afford going back to PA school if I was able to get the National Health Service Corp scholarship. In my time as a PT I have also gotten 2 clinical specialty certifications. I had a 3.9 GPA in my doctorate program, but only like a 3.3 in my undergrad. I'm just wondering what my chances would be of getting into PA school and also getting that scholarship (NHSC scholarship)? I am planning to do some shadowing and at this point have over 12,000 hours of direct patient care experience and don't plan on applying until the 2026 starting year, so I will have more by that point. Wanting to know if I would be a competitive candidate for both admission and scholarship and what recommendations anyone has that would make me a better candidate?

Thanks!

Sharing a few thoughts:

I'll defer to others regarding your candidacy and scholarship chances, but wanted to mention the lost income the 2-3 years you'll be out of work during PA school given your current debt state. Not saying you shouldn't change careers or shouldn't go to PA school because of existing debt, but are there any things you can do to get rid of your debt now? Do you really want to be a PA or is it mostly financially driven? Reducing debt and becoming debt free will afford you financial freedom (and professional freedom) in choosing your path. There are many positives and negatives to being a PA, so I encourage you to talk to and shadow MANY PAs before taking the plunge. 

Just sharing my two cents and experience being debt free and financially independent.

• Administrator

Your chances for admission are excellent if you can compellingly answer the question "Why do you want to be a PA, given that you're already a PT?"