EMT or Phlebotomy

I'm an undergraduate who just finished my first year. I want to begin gaining clinical hours but have no certificate. I'm looking into EMT courses but most have started. There is one left. However, there is a Phlebotomy course available still. Which one is better EMT or Phlebotomy? Should I take the Phlebotomy and does it count for clinical hours? 

I think that phlebotomy as hours would depend on the program more than anything. I feel like it ~should~ but I'm not positive. Either way, 110% go the EMS route. I actually just got accepted to my #1 program last week and I was coming in with around 25,000hrs of 911 EMS experience over 7 years. I was an EMT for 2 and then was a paramedic for the rest of that time. You obviously don't need that many hours or years, but the skill set and experience you acquire for the level of education needed to be an EMT is hard to beat, and compared to a phleb tech... well I don't really think they compare. 

Ultimately though, the application portion comes down to how well you can compile your skills and experiences to sell the admissions department on why you'd be a great PA at their program. If I was an admissions team member and had an EMT with 5 years of experience as an interfacility transport driver, where all he did was drive an ambulance to and from the hospital to the nursing home, I probably wouldn't value the skills acquired as much as I would say a phleb tech with 3 years in a high volume ER that worked cooperatively with all sorts of different health care practitioners in an ever changing environment. It really depends on how you present the skills that you've obtained no matter what route you go. 

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1