Computer Recommendations for PA School?

Let me preface this by saying I am Pre-PA and haven't even completed the pre reqs. However I am a super tech geek and I have a lot of computer experience, both in building and troubleshooting different systems. If cost is an issue, I know a number of companies that offer great laptops at low prices. If you don't mind spending upwards of 1000 for a computer, then I would highly recommend a macbook pro (as stated above). The big thing to consider is that Mac apps and approved software are not going to allow a port of entry for a virus, as well as the time machine backup (it is an automatic backup of your entire hard drive, including apps, that will backup whenever you connect your external hard drive). A non-Mac laptop is much less stringent on what you install/download, which can pose a potential threat for viruses. Feel free to PM me if you want some specs/potential buys on each side. I would be more than happy to help you :). Best of luck with your shopping and I hope you find something that will help you to succeed in school!!

Steve

• Administrator

Mac. When you don't have time to deal with a computer system problem, they *just* *work*. The extra money they cost is well worth the peace of mind. Oh, and if you first used a mac 23 years ago, like I did, you can still use the current OS without having to re-learn the user interface. Windows just doesn't get that consistency and incremental improvements are very, very important to the end user experience.

I switched from a PC to a Mac halfway through a paper i was writing during didactic year. I was typing along and BAM! Blue screen of death, lost some of my report...The next day I bought a MacBook Pro. Took a couple of weeks to feel really comfortable working on it..now..I can't imagine ever going back to PC. Peace of mind is expensive, but so worth it.