Applied & will most likely not be accepted..need some advice

Hello,

First of big thanks to everyone in advance for the all the post and help on this forum.

Here are my stats:

Undergrad gpa: 3.3

Degree: Molecular Biology Bachelors

College credits : 160+ ( I have an associates)

Healthcare work/patient care hours: 8+ years

Currently working as a tech w/direct patient care and clinical research. (I am certified and distinguished in my field w/ multiple publications and honors)

# of schools applied:10 schools

Interviewed: 2

Rejected: 4

In every one of my interviews I was always asked about my low GPA- I explained my undergrad situation I was homeless for some time/ worked 3 jobs and lost my parents all during my freshmen year. As I am well aware everyone has difficulties to overcome and I do have an upward trend and am still taking science course at my local community college with all A's. Given I have almost 9 years of healthcare experience, I think my low gpa is the reason I am not being given serious consideration.

All my interviews said I had great LOR and they liked my personal statement.

So my question is what can I do to become more competitive? Should I get a Masters? Retake any pre- reqs with lower then an A?

I've tried to reach out and ask this question directly to the admissions committee but most schools say, they don't offer any academic counseling. :(

Look at schools that prefer lots of HCE over stellar GPA. If all your grades since your freshman year are very good, there are schools that will take that into account. Your science GPA should probably be above 3.0 to be considered by any school though, so if it's not, yes, retake some pre-req science classes to get it up there. If you have to take the GRE, make sure you do well on that too.