How are PA's paid?

I'm a pre-PA student, and I'm having the hardest time finding answers to how a PA salary is structured. I'm asking the question here since you are all seasoned PAs.

Are PA's paid a flat salary, such as $90k a year, working 40 hours a week, paid by the hospital (assuming you're employed in one), no matter what the caseload is? If that is the case, why are we concerned with reimbursement rates? Or do you get paid on a commission basis for the amount of patients you see or the surgery you perform? Any light you can shed on this would be greatly appreciated.

I only know of hourly wage structures paid to nurses and have no idea how PAs/physician salaries work. Thank you.

Salary structures are as varied as heir are practices.

If you are an employee, you might be straight salary.. 90k for an assumed 2000 work hour year (40 hrs/ x 50 weeks) plus bennies... Depending on employer size, OT can get sticky.. I no of few PA s working 40/wk, and fewer yet actually getting OT, though recent case law has excluded PAs as highly paid employees exempt from OT rules, so this should be noted in your contract.. If paid, what rate, etc...

You will ge paid biweekly, or monthly.

You also could be a non salaried employee.. Paid an hourly rate, say $45/hr (90k equiv). With bennies paid for either by employees straight out, our subtracted from your hourly rate using pretax dollars..again, contract issue.

Or you could be an employee being paid a salary (straight or hourly), plus a productivity fee ( if you generate x dollars above a preset minimum, or see x number pts/hour above a certain minimum, then your hourly rate will increase or you will get a bonus paid at some interval (mo they, qrtrly)), with te bonus tiered so that the higher your production, the greater the bonus.