For us old timers

[h=1]Unemployment: 12 Things I Learned From Getting Laid Off In My 60s[/h] Posted: 10/09/2012 7:05 am EDT Updated: 10/12/2012 2:07 pm EDT

redditstumblegplus-32.png

Get Fifty Alerts:Sign Up

React:

Amazing

Inspiring

Funny

Scary

Hot

Crazy

Important

Weird

Follow:

Careers, Unemployment, Unemployment, Finding a Job After 50, Finding Work, Jobs post50, Looking For a Job, post50, Seeking Work, Unemployed, Fifty News

s-UNEMPLOYMENT-large.jpg

I've been a journalist my entire working life. I've been a writer, an editor, and a nationally syndicated columnist for a major print daily. I can even claim a share of a Pulitizer prize for my work covering the Northridge, California earthquake. And I was completely stunned when I fell victim to the recession and was laid off in March 2008. But as they say, what doesn't kill you just makes you stronger. I survived; actually I did more than survive, I thrived. Here's what losing my job at age 59.5 years old taught me:

1. Grieving is for widows.

I devoted my final commute home -- an hour stuck in traffic on Los Angeles' 10 Freeway -- to sobbing uncontrollably. I rolled the windows up tight and blasted Springsteen so loud the car vibrated. I banged the steering wheel so hard that my fists hurt. And then I pulled into my driveway, dried my tears, and faced my family. Grieving time was over; from that moment on, I never looked back. I accepted that what I lost was just a job, not a loved one.

2. Don't waste time blaming anyone, including yourself.

I didn't spend a minute wondering why I got the tap on the shoulder instead of the next guy. Didn't we learn on the kindergarten playground that life wasn't always fair? Finger-pointing, repeating the gory details of the injustice that befell you to anyone you can get to listen -- it's just such an energy-zapper. Save your emotional strength for rebuilding your career.

3. Confidence breeds confidence.