Help: Don't feel like I'm going to prepared for clinical rotations

Hi guys

I'm currently a student in the second to last semester of my didactic year and feel like I have barely retained anything. I've heard that PA school is like "drinking from a fire hydrant" and completely agree, but I'm worried that I won't have a strong enough knowledge base for when it comes to rotations to really make them worth while. I've tried very hard to retain what I feel like is important and haven't been really focused on what I get for grades (getting a B or high C doesn't upset me like some other students in my class), but its hard enough staying remotely on top of the material we are currently learning that it makes it really difficult to set aside any serious amount of time to re-learn all of the basic material we had last year. I think part of my problem is that I am really uncertain of what clinicals will even be like and I know I shouldn't really be letting this get into my head, but I'd rather get a jump on this now and fix the problem while I still have time (I get a month off for X-mas vacation that I'm really going to hit the books hard during). So does anyone have tips or techniques they used to keep the old material fresh in their head while still staying on top of current material? I'm not concerned about acing exams or being able to answer every single my preceptors ask, I just want to make sure I get as much out of clinicals as I can and would like to be a solid PA afterwards (which I'm sure almost everyone here wants). Thanks!

I guess it is a bit late for the answer of "previous direct patient care experience".

Have candid conversations with your class/clinical advisor and placement team. They have the best idea of where u really are and work to place you with a well matched preceptor.

most everyone feels overwhelmed. Breathe and relax. You still have one and a half semesters to go. That is darn near half a year.

• Administrator