New grad EM interview Questions

Hello Everyone,

I'm a new grad physician assistant seeking a position in Emergency Medicine. I would like to know what are the common questions the employer or the interviewer asks a new graduate during the interview and what are the best possible answers for it. I would greatly appreciate for all the responses. I was trying to look online for any sources. but I didn't find any helpful questions that an EM interviewer would ask.

Thank you

pretty much the same questions as any other job interview.... tell me about yourself, why did you become a PA, what are your interests in medicine, why emergency medicine, tell me about your training, what sort of work did you do before PA school, etc. Sorry you're going to have to come up with your answers on your own.

two HUGE points

is productivity jammed down your throat (do you have to see 3-4 patients an hour and what happens if you only see 1-2)

are the attendings okay with teaching and hand holding

these are HUGE points - as an 8 year experienced urgent care PA I took an ER job where these two answers were NO and I lasted 8 months before I quit to protect my license. Since then the director almost lost his medical license for missing an STEMI on EKG %R$#@, and no supervision, then the whole group got fired...... not a good setting....

would be REALLY bad for a new grad

^^^^^ true that

It is VERY hard to find a rural, or non teaching hospital ED which will take a newbie, for exactly the above reason... We are in a business.. Are constantly being evaluated by admin for throughput and turn around times. If you cannot reasonably see 3-5 pts per hr (combined ft and major), then you will adversely affect the whole department. In any non teaching ED seeing more than say 40k per year, no one has time to teach.