New Grad in NC. Waiting to get credentialed is taking FOREVER!!

I am a new grad, and accepted a really good fam practice/peds offer in NC.

I wanted to move and start work ASAP, but the board is telling me FOUR MONTHS for my license credentials.

The office is telling me I can't start until then, but I was under the impression that I could be trained while waiting? Anyway, that is the impression they gave me in the interview. The doc seems urgent for me to start, emailing me everyday asking how things are going, but the practice administrator is not budging. I am kind of in limbo with everything else in my life right now (finances, living situation, boyfriend quit his job, etc) soo would it be out of line for me to ask them to give me an estimated date? Now, I am just waiting for the board.. and don't know if I need to get another job, move, etc. while waiting.

And does it really truly take FOUR MONTHS?!?!

Thanks for your help :)

Jenni

You are talking about getting a NC license, correct? In my case, I knew I'd be working in NC after grad so I started the application process and had all my materials in several months before graduation. I found out I passed PANCE on Thursday and the license was emailed to me the following Tuesday.

If you already have your -C and are then starting the process, yes, I wouldn't be surprised if it takes a while; we were advised to start the process early for that reason. If I had to guess though, they probably tell you four months to hedge, but it won't really take that long.

I think they have to make you wait to start in clinic for liability purposes, since you're not really licensed to practice medicine yet...have you asked about shadowing the doc while you're waiting, though? You may be able to convince them to let you do that with the provision that you can't touch any patients until your license comes through. That would at least let you get more familiar with your SP and the work flow of the office while you're waiting.