Please Help! Low GPA but want to pursue PA Schools

Hi guys,

So here is my stories: I graduated a 4-year University with a low cumulative and science GPA. However, I am really interested in pursuing a career in as a Physician Assistant(or my second priority is Pharmacy). I am thinking of boosting up my GPA by retaking my lower division science courses at a community college in hope to improve my GPA while gaining some experience working at a doctor clinic. Will this work out? I asked some of the PA schools and it seems like they are okay with retaking courses from a JC. I am also thinking about post-bac programs but I am not sure how this works and they are quite expensive. Is post-bac a better option or look better on application instead? Anyone has been in similar position please share some advices! I hope I am not in a dead end. I have been very depressed about this. I really hope I can move forward with my career/life:sweat: Any tips, advices, personal experiences are greatly appreciated!

Another question is that usually how do pre-PA students obtain their clinical hours? I know about EMT and NA position but those program pretty long and I don't think I will have time on top of my classes. I am thinking of working as a medical assistant but I am not a certified MA so I am not sure how this will work...?

PS. I am new to this forum so I apologize if this question has already been asked

Hey,

As a person who has been in the same boat as you, I can sympathize. Let me be upfront and say it's not going to be an easy road, but it certainly is possible. Through all the forum posts here, you'll come across people who have succeeded through intense perseverance. Let's hope we're both those people. :)