I am a past residency graduate and now an assistant program director - Ask me anything about PA residencies, and check out my new guidebook for PA residency programs!

Hello all!  As some of the long time forum crew may know, I wrote a blog about my experience going through an EM PA residency program in 2015.  A lot has happened since then... I've gone on to become a lead PA in the ED and even helped to found our own EM PA/NP residency program at our group where I now serve as an assistant program director (going to keep the program anonymous as I don't want this to be viewed as advertising).  I am also very excited to share a project that I've been working on for a long time now... a guide book for PA/NP students applying to and completing residency programs!  

It is the book that I wish I had before starting my program.  I definitely struggled through a lot of the program.  I loved the struggle, but it was still rough, and it could have gone much smoother.  The goal of this book is to give you the insider info to know what challenges to expect each step of the way and how to deal with them like a pro.  

I wanted to open this thread as an "Ask me anything" post.  I'd be happy to answer any questions you might have about the residency experience, application, admissions, completion, rotations... whatever you'd like!

-SN

Check out the link to the amazon page for the book. Let me know what you think!

Here is some of the content...

Overview of PA/NP post-graduate training programs

• What they are, what they offer, the different types of programs you’ll find, and the pros & cons of each.
  • Checklists for key areas to assess in each program you research.
  • Deciding which program is right for you.
  • Examples of what the daily life and roles of real PA/NP residents looks like as they go through training.

The application and admission process

• The prerequisites, components of your application, and how to become the best possible candidate.