Wilderness Medicine/Mountain Rescue Clinical Rotation

I am a first year PA student and am beginning to plan for clinical placements. My program mentioned that if I were interested in a specialty that was not yet established by the school that I would be able to request for one to be created (not guaranteed of course). For example, a previous student interested in forensics had a rotation created for them. I am curious if anyone knows of PA's that work in wilderness medicine or something related such as mountain rescue. Any information is greatly appreciated!

• Administrator

You should look at the Wilderness Medicine Society (WMS.org). There are a number of PAs who have earned the Fellow of the Academy of Wilderness Medicine (FAWM) designation--I think all members (and student membership is cheap) have access to the FAWM directory. Now, not all of us work in wilderness medicine--my interest is in austere/travel/missionary medicine--but there may be ways to connect with people there. 

If you have functionally unlimited income, you might see if they'll let a PA-S2 into one of these:

https://www.saem.org/about-saem/academies-interest-groups-affiliates2/join-an-interest-group/wilderness-medicine-professionals/medical-student-rotations-in-wilderness-medicine

Best wishes!

• Like 2

Iowa School of Wilderness Medicine. Course does count for CME credits towards WIlderness Medicine Certification.
Email 
iowaswm@gmail.com

primary contact is Dan Wing MD. Excellent course that has PA and MD students, as well as PA residents and MD residents.