• Replies 429
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 3 weeks later...

Hi all,

I recently applied to the Sophie b. Davis PA program. I currently have a low overall gpa (2.7) and a 3.1 science gpa. I have worked with patients for about 9 years and currently hold my AA in nutrition. I have met all of the pre requisites for the PA program. I have recommendation letters from a PA, MD and a professor. Although I have my gpa this low, do I have a chance of being accepted? Thanks in advance

• 2 months later...

Does anyone know how heavily sophie davis looks at experience vs gpa? My gpa is low but the minimums are met. I explained the irregularities in my personal statement in detail. I have 2400 hours of direct patient care as a nurses aide and recommendation letters from my boss and some of the nurses on my unit. Is there still a chance I could be accepted?

I am a current city student (not PA) but from what I've heard about this program is that it's more geared towards students with competitive grades and not necessarily lots of experience (experience is preferred, not required). That being said as log as you've met the minimum requirements and you have the experience to show on top of that, I don't see why you wouldn't have a good chance of getting in! Since I'm not a Sophie Davis student, I would also like to hear what others think about this.