• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I am currently a 1st year PA student at St Bonaventure. There are a lot of things I wish I was informed about as an interviewee before accepting my offer to attend this program. Here are a couple of things I think are important to know in order to make an informed decision about this school.

This program highly values professionalism. However, the faculty does not hold themselves to the same standard of professionalism that they hold their students to. For example, our didactic director once yelled and cussed at a student because he sighed during class. According to our faculty, it is acceptable for a professor to cuss out a student. Unfortunately, this is only one example of the many other similar instances where faculty professionalism has been an issue.

Some professors are frequently late to their own classes. There was one instance where a professor did not even show up to class. We ended up getting an email 30 minutes in saying that he intended to cancel class but did not let anyone know.

They are sticklers on being in the classroom during lecture. Multiple students have been reprimanded for leaving to go to the restroom during lecture. One student was once reprimanded for momentarily leaving the classroom because she had a coughing fit and did not want to disrupt the rest of the class.

Clinical rotations are highly unorganized. We were initially told that all rotations would be within a 2 hour radius of the school. We are now being told that we will have to travel 4+ hours for some clinical rotations.

Our pharmacology professor does not seem to understand the material he teaches. When students go to his office to review questions from exams, our professor has to look up the correct answer to each question because he does not know the material himself. This poses a major issue whenever students ask questions during lecture because he does not have enough knowledge to answer the questions.