Advice for New Grad

I am a PA student about to graduate in August. My background was in long term care and primary care before school. During school I really liked my EM classes and rotation. Looking at job postings it looks like there aren’t many opportunities for new grads in EM. Am I better off trying to get a job in Family Med? Or is a job in inpatient medicine better preparation for my end goal of getting into EM? For what it’s worth I enjoyed my inpatient rotation more than primary care. I have heard that urgent care is often not a great environment for a new grad is that correct? Above all I would really like a first job that has lots of training and supportive/accessible supervising Physicians. Any advice on what kind of jobs to seek out as I get closer to graduation?

• Upvote 1

• 1 month later...
  • Administrator
On 3/26/2022 at 1:59 PM, cbj57 said:

I am a PA student about to graduate in August. My background was in long term care and primary care before school. During school I really liked my EM classes and rotation. Looking at job postings it looks like there aren’t many opportunities for new grads in EM. Am I better off trying to get a job in Family Med? Or is a job in inpatient medicine better preparation for my end goal of getting into EM? For what it’s worth I enjoyed my inpatient rotation more than primary care. I have heard that urgent care is often not a great environment for a new grad is that correct? Above all I would really like a first job that has lots of training and supportive/accessible supervising Physicians. Any advice on what kind of jobs to seek out as I get closer to graduation?

The answer to this isn't particularly state specific, so asking again in a broader forum may get you more replies.