Ophthalmology

I wanted to start a thread as there are very few threads out there for Ophthalmology PAs, and wanted to be a source of information for those interested.

I have been working in Ophtho for about 1.5 years, this was my first job out of school. This was not the specialty I was interested in coming out of school. I had zero experience. Initially it was ER or Surgery. But my wife got accepted into PA school shortly after I graduated. So I needed an 8-5 job while my wife was in PA school, and I took on the kids full time. I found it, sent resume, and hired on.

I graduated from the Interservice Physician Assistant program and we received about 10 classroom hours for Ophtho in school, and did a two week rotation in the field as well. This was my only experience, the hiring physicians understood this was going to be a learning curve. I spent the first 3 months shadowing and acting as pretty much a student. I spent the evenings study, reading, etc (I still do this quite a bit). I practiced slit lamp/fundus exams on the staff constantly.

After 3 mos, I had my own clinic starting with about 15 patients a day. My physician team made it very clear to me they would help with any patient at any time (I asked a lot of questions at first). Never one time, have they been bothered by questions/consults daily. Now I am down to a few a week.

I manage dry eyes, glaucoma, diabetic, macular degeneration, triages, preop/postop surgery, interpret ocular testing, etc.

Perform I&D for styes, remove corneal FB, remove periocular lesions, assist in blepharoplasty/ptosis repair, punctal plugs, punctal irrigation, conjunctiva and intravitreal injections.

Lots of cosmetics - botox, fillers, threads.

Currently working on getting approved to run lasers for glaucoma/diabetic management, pre-cataract surgery.

I see about 40-45 pts per day. I utilize 3 exam rooms, and have 3 scribes/work up techs. 90% of my notes are closed as I am walking out the room.