Working Full-time and going to PA school

4 hours ago, Evgomez71 said:

Hello, 

I am a full-time firefighter/ paramedic and on a 24/48 hour schedule. Would be possible to go to school and work on the job if everything is planned accordingly? Is there any part time PA schools out there ? 

No, It won't be possible to do that. PA school is too challenging to manage this. Your goal is to become a PA; this would negatively impact your grades. As a medic, I can only manage to work on breaks from school.

• Like 1

We had an RN in my class who continued to work.....she failed out. Had a fireman who continued to work....he barely made it through. If you want to be a PA I recommend you focus on becoming a PA. Yes, we are all in the poor house for two years during PA school but it's a short term commitment for long term gains. Good luck. 

• Like 2

@bike mike Appreciate the info. The fireman you mentioned who barely made it through, I got to give him credit. His motive to make it through PA school and work full time gives me the confidence to consider it as well. It it possible as you can see, but very challenging. To be honest, I am 29 years of age, single with no kids. I have a home and so far, I have payed for school out my pocket. I do most of my school work on duty and still able to maintain a solid 3.4 GPA. 

• Like 1

There are 3 part-time PA programs and a very few online ones.  With great difficulty, you might be able to make it work, if you:

• had no life other than school and work
  • had very accommodating co-workers who would do shift trades when you had exams, etc during the didactic portion of the program.
  • didn't go to a regular PA program with M-F classes during the didactic portion.

I don't know how you would make the clinical rotations work as many of them are M-F and a few, like EM, will require night/weekend shifts.