From cleaning teeth to PA School?

Hi everyone,

Just found this forum and am very excited about all the information out there. I was hoping some of you might be able to give me some insight into the journey to becoming a Physician Assistant.

I graduated w a Bachelors in Science of Dental Hygiene. I have been working as a hygienist for a little more than a year and while it is a wonderful job it is very monotonous and not something I can see myself doing for the rest of my life. Before I graduated I started looking into Masters programs, and after extensive research and soul searching I have decided to pursue a career as a PA. I do still have quite a few pre-reqs but I would love to get any tips or advice on how to have the best application possible. MY GPA is around a 3.8 (hoping to keep it this high after taking all my classes), and although I have not gotten my written score, my Analytical and Quantitative score for the GRE was 156 for both (although I may take it one more time to try to improve my score). I am working on shadowing a few PAs and possibly volunteering in the ER or other hospital setting. Do you think that my experience as a hygienist would count towards patient experience? Although it is in the dental field, my schooling still required classes on Pharmacology, Medical Emergencies, Anatomy, Internal Medicine, etc. and I would hope this would be a plus. Any tips/advice would be greatly appreciated!

PS I'm in Louisiana so any recommendations for great PA schools in the south are welcome.

I think my dental hygienist is freaking brilliant. She has awesome bedside manner, attentive, skilled, thorough and when she uses the nitrous she is very attentive for effect, respiratory drive, and other indicators of my response. While it doesn't cover a broad spectrum of medicine I believe the skills she has would help make her a great clinician. You can learn medicine...you can't learn bedside manner.

I say go for it.