New Grad Advice for Surgery Job

Hi! I'm currently on the homestretch of clinical rotations, graduating in May 2022 where I'll be looking for jobs ideally in surgery. I've had no prior experience in the OR before school (such as a scrub tech or anything else). OR experience includes 5 week rotations in Women's health, Gen Surg, and Ortho.

I was looking for any advice anyone may have on landing a surgical specialty job as a new grad (nonspecific specialty). How do new grads secure these positions without previous experience? How do I make myself stand out amongst other applicants to the interviewers other than being eager to learn? I'd appreciate any help on tailoring resume/CV towards a surgical PA job.

Any and all advice/shared experience you can give me will be extremely helpful.

Thank you in advance!

As a prior Ortho PA, it shouldn't be too much of a problem. If you want to stand out, write a badass cover letter and if you get the interview be yourself and drop some humor. Some Ortho docs tend to be pretty fun and like to have a good time. Practice suturing in your off time and know anatomy really well. One question that I think got me my job was "Tell me what you think you'd be doing on a day to day basis." Knowing a bit about the doc and the practice beforehand helped me know it involved a lot of hours rounding, first assisting, and high volume clinical days.

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1

Prepare for your cases, practice your suturing, offer to help wherever you can, do all the procedures you can, seek feedback when appropriate and demonstrate improvement on that feedback, and demonstrate competency.